1. The Great Epidemic of 1846
  2. Children of Dagon
  3. The Azathoth Cycle
  4. Shoggoth
  5. Flesh Architect
  6. In the Vault
  7. Conlaceratus
  8. Walking with Shadows
  9. Shapeshifter
  10. A Bolt from the Grave
  11. Liberation
PUTERAEON - Cult Cthulhu

GENRE: Death metal
LABEL: Cyclone Empire Records
YEAR: June 1st, 2012

RATING: 7/10
PROVIDED BY: Sure Shot Worx

The music on Cult Cthulhu is typical Swedish death metal. The four-piece adds nothing to the genre, but that is not really what matters. What matters is that the music is well-played and catchy, and it is. The song-writing is great. I spot similarities to bands like Taetre and Nominon. Obviously that isn't odd since Jonas and Anders have a past in the aforementioned bands.

The music is overall diverse. There are both fast and slower parts, but mostly the pace is somewhere in the middle. Despite the music being somewhat standard the songs are full of catchy riffs and parts. I think that shows well on "Shoggoth", "Flesh Architect" and "Conlaceratus" to name three. I like how the bass gets a bit of space in "Conlaceratus", it definitely profit the song. The vocals are typical death metal vocals, but Jonas is good at varying his style so it doesn't tiring.

The production is thick and juicy. That profits the music and makes it both heavy and crunchy. Cult Cthulhu may in many ways be a run-of-the-mill effort, but that doesn't change the fact that it's a strong effort. If you like catchy and riff driven old school Swedish death metal than I think you'll probably like Puteraeon.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 2   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t