1. Intro
  2. Leprous Divinity
  3. The Rot
  4. Sufferer
  5. The Process Within
  6. Interlude
  7. Nefarious
  8. Magure
  9. Only the Dead Rest
  10. Ungoliant
KAMIKABE - Aberration of Man

GENRE: Technical death metal
LABEL: Unique Leader Records
YEAR: August 28th, 2012

RATING: 7/10
PROVIDED BY: Unique Leader Records

It seems that most of the bands on Unique Leader Records these days play technical death metal. It's no different with Kamikabe, but the band differ a little from the majority of band in the genre by not overdoing the use of guitar sweeps, and I'm thankful for that.

The five-piece seem inspired by Origin, Decrepit Birth among others. It can be heard on "Leprous Divinity", "Sufferer" and "Only the Dead Rest", but the five Americans draw on a variety of inspirations. There's a bit of deathcore references in the music, but nothing major, it can be heard in the vocals as well as the music itself.

The music is diverse and well-played. The bass isn't all that present in the music. You can hear it now and then, like on "Sufferer" and "The Process Within", but overall it doesn't get much room. There aren't a lot of solos on the CD. I think it's a shame as the few that are do profit the songs, like on "The Process Within". The two instrumental songs "Interlude" and "Ungoliant" add some contrast to all the brutality. It definitely profits the music.

The production is crisp and polished. It fits the music nicely, but overall it doesn't make a greater difference. While there's little on the Aberration of Man that blow me away, I still think it's a good debut. It has most of what you'd expect of the genre. The Aberration of Man should interest fans of technical death metal as well as deathcore.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 2   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t