1. Weakest of the Weak
  2. The Unwashed Horde
  3. A Murderous Creed
  4. Scorn of the Earth
  5. Love Lies Bleeding
  6. Enthralled
  7. Feasting Upon Souls
  8. Crafted in Flesh
  9. Tempt Not the Knife
  10. Seize the Moment of Murder

GENRE: Death metal
COUNTRY: Denmark
LABEL: Deepsend Records
YEAR: January 8th, 2013

RATING: 9/10
PROVIDED BY: Corpus Mortale

After much wait Corpus Mortale is finally ready with its fourth full-length FleshCraft. The follow-up to 2007's A New Species of Deviant feels more mature and overall diverse. There's no doubt that the long gab between the albums has worn off on the song-writing. I think Martin Rosendahl & Co has outdone themselves on FleshCraft. The music is chunky and groovy mid-tempo driven death metal. Often there are faster parts for diversity. It's obvious that the four-piece doesn't try to reinvent death metal all over, and I like that.

I think the band has its own style, but I do hear a variety of inspiration here and there. The song "A Murderous Creed" reminds me of Invocator, just heavier. The solo on "Scorn of the Earth" makes me think a bit of Death. On "Enthralled" Obituary obviously has been an inspiration. In particularly the solo has a noticeable Obituary ring to it.

FleshCraft is an effort that has most of what you could want from the genre. The riffs are catchy and the solos great. The drumming is tight and the vocals deep and brutal. In addition the bass gets a lot of room in the music as well, I like that as it gives the music chunky feel. And the icing on the cake is the thick and juicy production. It fits the music faultless.

If you like groove laden and diverse death metal then FleshCraft is hard to avoid. It has most of what you'd expect of a great death metal album. No doubt that it's the Danes strongest effort so far. If you like Obituary, The Cleansing or later day Carcass then you'll enjoy Corpus Mortale as well.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 2   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t