1. As Gods Walk the Earth
  2. Lies of the Dead
  3. Enslaved by Fear
  4. No One Above
  5. Heretics
  6. Bloodlust
  7. Writhe
  8. Monolith
  9. Sacrificial Ritual
BENEATH - Enslaved by Fear

GENRE: Brutal death metal
COUNTRY: Iceland
LABEL: Unique Leader Records
YEAR: July 17th, 2012

RATING: 7/10
PROVIDED BY: Unique Leader Records

Beneath is an Icelandic five-piece. The band plays brutal death metal with groove and a modern touch. On the opener "As Gods Walk the Earth" the Icelanders is obviously inspired by Behemoth. However that isn't a common trait in the music. It's obvious that the band has a variety of inspirations. In addition to Behemoth I hear bits and pieces of Ulcerate, Decrepit Birth here and there. The five-piece hardly brings anything different to the genre, but that is really of no concern.

A common denominator in the music is that it's groovy and heavy. The music is catchy and diverse. There are lots of good riffs and parts. It doesn't hurt either that a solo or two pops up now and then. As I wrote above that the band isn't very different from so much else in the genre. Overall that is the truth, but there are bits and pieces that makes Beneath a little different, and more interesting. A huge plus is the bands ability to write music that is brutal, but has a good amount of melody as well. The CD isn't just 40 minutes of blind brutality.

The vocals are harsh and guttural. It fits the heavy feel of the songs nicely. I like that the bass now and then gets a bit of room. It provides the songs with a fat and rough feel. Another thing that profits the music is the production. It's thick and juicy and it gives the music a compact sound.

Enslaved by Fear is a potent and ruthless effort. If you like death metal that is catchy, diverse and well-played then Beneath is a band that you should go and check out. Off course there are always room to improve, but Enslaved by Fear is a strong debut.

© 2 0 0 3  -  2 0 1 2   w w w . s u p r e m e b r u t a l i t y . n e t